[Lecture]How does the brain lea
Speaker: James R. Booth the John T. Jones, Jr. Centennial Professorship in Communication Moody College of Communication, The University of Texas at Austin Abstract Reading is fundamental to human society and the costs of illiteracy are enor

Welcome to the Brain and Reading Development Laboratory (BRDL). BRDL is affiliated to the School of Brain and Cognitive Sciences (also called National Key Laboratory of Cognitive Neuroscience and Learning) at Beijing Normal University. The research in BRDL mainly focuses on the children's language development and disorder, especially the cognitive and neural mechanisms underlying developmental dyslexia. Multiple approaches are adopted in BRDL, including questionnaire, behavioral experiment, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and event-related potentials (ERP).

Reading is the cornerstone of learning. About 80% of human knowledge is acquired through reading. For the majority of the population, reading is a as highly automated, natural and smooth process as speaking. However, there is a small proportion of the population suffering from dyslexia characteristic of slow reading speed and inaccuracy. Due to differences in the written systems between Chinese and English, we must conduct research on Chinese dyslexia itself to help Chinese people with dyslexia rather than indiscriminately imitating the experience of diagnosis and treatment of alphabetic dyslexia.

The current research in BRDL mainly includes: Brain structural and functional alterations of Chinese dyslexia (MRI/fMRI), online phonological processing of Chinese dyslexia (ERP), and the influence of early reading on children's cognitive and brain development. The research can potentially provide evidences for science-based diagnosis and intervention of Chinese dyslexia.

大脑如何学习阅读?
主讲人: James R. Booth博士、教授 得克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校Moody传播学院 摘要: 阅读是人类社会的基础,而文盲的代价则是巨大的。在本次讲座中,我将向大家介绍我们在揭示阅读这一

欢迎访问我们的实验室。我们实验室隶属于北京师范大学脑与认知科学研究院(认知神经科学与学习国家重点实验室)。我们的研究兴趣是儿童语言发展与障碍,特别是儿童阅读发展与障碍的认知神经机制。我们的主要研究手段是问卷、行为实验、磁共振以及脑电技术。

阅读是学习的基石,人类80%的知识都是通过阅读这种方式获得的。对于大多数人而言,阅读如同说话一样,是一个高度自动化的、自然流畅的过程。但是,有一小部分群体,却因为患有阅读障碍,导致识字困难,阅读速度慢且不准确,难以成为一个熟练的阅读者。由于文字的差异,我们不能直接照搬拼音文字阅读障碍的研究经验,必须开展汉语的阅读障碍研究。

本课题组目前主要开展的研究包括:汉语阅读障碍的脑结构与功能异常的磁共振研究、汉语阅读障碍语音加工的脑电研究、早期阅读对儿童认知与脑发育的影响研究。研究结果可以为阅读障碍的诊断与干预提供科学依据。